So this has been making the rounds and for the first time in a few years I feel like I’ve read enough to actually join in!  Also I have a busy week of things (probably a War of the Planet of the Apes review coming your way soon) so a nice tag is roughly all I can handle at the moment.
1. Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2017?
Such a difficult question! These are my gut instinct ones but I know if I think about it for much longer we could be here for a few weeks at least…
Classic: Between the Acts by Virginia Woolf
YA: Where’d You Go Bernadette- Maria Semple
Non-Fiction: Furiously Happy- Jenny Lawson
Fiction: My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises- Fredrik Backman
2. Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2017?
I have’t read a sequel in 2017!  I guess you could say Furiously Happy is a sequel of sorts but it’s not really a continuation of one narrative but another series of stories from the same person.
3. New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To?
All of them?? I’ve heard loads of good things about How To Stop Time by Matt Haig and promised myself I’d give his fiction a go so probably that one is first on the list.
4. Most Anticipated Release For Second Half of 2017?
Can I say The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley? It technically only just makes it into the second half of 2017 as it was released the 1st July but it is still my most anticipated book of the year as I just love The Watchmaker of Filigree Street so much.  Also it’s about Deepest Darkest Peru which sounds so interesting to me.
5. Biggest Disappointment?
I’ve unfortunately had a few books disappoint me this year but the most recent one was probably the most disappointing just because I wasn’t going to pick it up but was convinced by a pretty cover and okay first page to give it a go.  Lisa Owen’s Not Working follows Claire who has just quit her job to ‘find her purpose’.  I just found there was nothing compelling me to read it, no sense of an overarching reason for any of the action taking place or for certain vignettes to be included.  I also didn’t really connect to any of the characters and overall I was left wanting.
6. Biggest Surprise?
My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises (MGSHR&A).  Obviously I wanted to read this but I had no idea just how much this book would effect me.  It is just wonderful.
7. Favourite New Author?
I have a list of authors I want to check out more from: Matt Haig, Mark Haddon, Maria Semple (lots of M’s), Fredrik Backman, and Neil Gaiman.
8. Newest Fictional Crush?

I don’t have one!
9. Newest Favourite Character?

Elsa and the Wurse from MGSHR&A. I would read about them all day.
10. Book That Made You Cry?
Can you guess? MGSHR&A is the first book in a while to make me cry ans I think that’s why it’s my biggest surprise because although I cry easily I don’t usually cry at books.
11. Book That Made You Happy?

Too big a question because nearly all books make me happy, although if I had to pick one I think maybe The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency.
12. Favourite Book To Movie Adaptation You Saw This Year?

I haven’t seen any!
13. Most Beautiful Book You Bought So Far This Year?

It’s probably a book that I really, really did not get on with: Caraval.
Hachette_Thumbnail_Stephanie-Garber_Caravel_320x488
14. What Books Do You Need To Read By The End of The Year?
I currently own about 26 books that I have not read so those ones are the ones I’m attacking at the moment so I can justify buying more books!
